1914 – Riding into War (Kiwis at War)

It’ll be over by Christmas … Young Billy Bowman and his mate Jack get caught up in the excitement when war is declared in August 1914 and leave their jobs on the farm to rush off and enlist in the Mounted Rifles—because the war would ‘probably be over by Christmas’.

We follow their journey from the Awapuni training camp to more training in the sands of Egypt before they finally get shipped out—without their horses—to fight at Gallipoli.

And there they discover that war isn’t the big adventure they thought it would be.

Written by Susan Brocker

$19.50 incl. GST

2 in stock

Payments: Secure credit or debit card payment via Stripe, or make an online bank transfer. Shipping: $5.20 to $15.60 per order based on largest book size. Rural delivery $6 extra. Tracked courier delivery usually 1-2 days.  Returns and exchanges: See FAQs. 

Description

The first book in the Kiwis at War series that tracks each year in World War One, from 1914 to 1918, each focussing on different aspects of war.
Each book in the series is written by a top New Zealand author and features threads that link the stories together, however each book can stand alone. For fans of The Drover’s Quest and Brave Bess and the ANZAC Horses, 1914 Riding Into War is a wonderful celebration of camaraderie and horsemanship.

Review

Bob’s Book Blog ~ Susan Brocker tells it well through the character Billy and through letters from home. She knows the story of the horses having written the story of Brave Bess, one of only 4 horses that returned. Much has been written about the Gallipoli Campaign but this account adds the dimension of the horses and will still bring a tear to your eyes as Billy learns two new words – amputee and prosthetics. Lest we forget.
Read the full review.

Meet the Kiwi author

Susan BrockerFind out more about Tauranga author Susan Brocker on her author page.

Additional information

Dimensions19.8 × 12.8 cm
ISBN

9781775432067

First published

2014

Format

Paperback edition

Page count

216

Published by

Scholastic NZ

Find other great Kiwi kids books!